Monthly Archives

September 2017


By | Sin categorizar
  1. Most shark species drown if they stop moving. White sharks, Mako sharks and salmon sharks (to name a few) do not have the muscles they need to pump water through their mouth and onto their gills. As they continue swimming, the water keeps moving on its gills, keeping them alive. 
  1. Sharks’ livers contain a lot of oil. This causes the liver to be a buoyant organ, which helps the sharks to keep the balance in the water. 
  1. Sharks do not follow the same routine of three meals a day as humans, they eat when they find food, no matter what time it is. 
  1. Surfers are more likely to die from drowning than by a shark attack, but it is true that big white sharks can be confused and feel intrigued by the way of a surfboard. Below the surface, a large white shark could confuse the outline of the board with that of a sea turtle, a seal, a walrus, or a sea lion. 
  1. Skeletons of Sharks are made entirely of cartilage, an elastic tissue that is much softer than the bones. When a shark dies, the salt from the ocean water completely dissolves its skeleton, leaving only the shark’s teeth behind. 
  1. The eyes of the sharks are on the sides of their heads, so they have an incredibly wide line of sight covering almost 360 degrees. Its panoramic view of the underwater world is inhibited only by two blind spots, one in front of the snout and the other directly behind the head. 
  1. Between 30% and 80% of the meat of a shark is made of water. A protein network gives the flesh its structure. 
  1. The size of a shark species are defined where they hunt: smaller sharks tend to feed near the bottom of the ocean, and larger sharks hunt in the middle depths and near the surface where they can more easily catch prey Bigger. 
  1. When hunting, the sharks stalk their victims, staying far enough away to remain hidden, but close enough to attack when the opportunity arises. 
  1. Big white sharks are fussy eaters. Their diet requires a lot of fat, and after a bite a big white shark can determine if the food will satisfy their nutritional needs. If not, the shark will leave the rest and swim away.


By | Sin categorizar

With a slightly larger size than the Mako shark, Mako Prieto is an imposing shark with hydrodynamic features, its pectoral fins are long and have a slightly pointed and dark snout. 

Its habitat is still little known to researchers, although there are indications that it is epipelagic (describes of all marine species that live in oceanic areas between the surface and 200m deep). It is classified as viviparous aplacental because the offspring break the eggs inside the mother’s body and feed on the nutrients transmitted by it; before its birth, the offspring of the shark carry out the so-called intrauterine cannibalism or oophagy, which is only the action in which the most developed embryos in the mother’s womb feed on the eggs produced by the maternal ovary while these still are in gestation. 

The International Union for the Preservation of nature has classified Mako-Prieto shark as “Vulnerable” as a precautionary measure, partly because of many aspects that are still unknown to the species. 

Picture: Discovery Communications